Neutering

I’ve seen a lot of discussion lately about neutering your dog.

Neutering being the gender-neutral form of spay and castrate.  I don’t know when, or why, it became “cool” to say “spay and neuter”, frankly I think that makes you sound kind of silly – it should be “spay or castrate your pet”, or “neuter your pet”, but that’s not really the point at hand.

Then I saw this photo on Facebook.  For me, on that day, this was enough.

Yes, responsible ownership, responsible breeding, population control, reducing the number of ‘unwanted’ dogs – whatever you want to call it is important.  Hugely so.

Neutering isn’t rocket science, but it doesn’t always make it the right choiceNeuter appropriately to avoid health and/or behavioural problems.

Being responsible with your pet is much more important than paying someone to remove something you have control over them using.

I have two dogs, one entire male, and one entire female.  Well, we assume Starr hasn’t been spayed, but then again we don’t know how old she is, whether she’s already been in season, whether she’s been spayed and will never have (another?) season, and when she might be due to come into season again.  And I know Inka hasn’t been castrated.

Does this mean that we’ll have an accident if/when Starr comes into season?  Hell no!  We have crates, and dog/baby gates, and doors, and frankly – we have at least one brain cell in our house (though it’s occasionally debatable who’s in control of it at any given time!).

Regardless, on the days when Inka or Starr seemingly have the household brain cell, I still wouldn’t let them within touching distance if I even thought Starr was even a little bit in season.  That’s just the type of common sense that doesn’t leave your brain.

So Inka not being castrated won’t be a problem, and it means he’s had chance to grow properly, and he has, and continues to steadily grow in confidence.

And Starr not being spayed won’t be a problem, and it also gives her the chance to mature – mentally and physically.

If the time is ever right for one, or both, of them to be neutered then I will do it.  But not doing it doesn’t make me irresponsible.

4 thoughts on “Neutering

  1. We must care for each dog individually. I have two intact males 2 1/2 and 2 and one female 1 year. I am fully armed with crates, closed doors and even some kind of diaper barrier for the boys. Someone is home with the dogs all but about 2-4 hours a week and we are all mindful of the game plan when our female Rosie finally goes into a full blown heat. My dogs are working dogs (McNab) and I really wanted to give them the best chance not to have problems ive seen other dogs have because of early neutering.

    I understand the need for early neutering and not everyone has the ability to watch their dogs like I do, but for those that have control of the situation or only have one dog, please Educate and fight for your right to choose when and if your dog is to be neutered.

    Thank you for taking an unpopular stand on a hot button issue for many. I salute you!

    • I like to think of it as sensible, rather than unpopular 🙂 Having seen the physical and physiological effects of early neutering on one dog (unscientific, but backed up by my friend & mentor who has more years “with dogs” than I have on this planet), it’s certainly something I think everyone should be more aware of.

  2. What a well written piece. I’d never thought that the age I neutered my dogs at would have any effect past them not being able to reproduce, but now I’m going to do some research in to it!

Have your say...

