Do you feed kibble, tins, pouches, or other commercially prepared food?

No, I’m not here you tell you your choice of food for your dog(s) is wrong; but I do want to find out a little about what you feed your dog(s) and why.

For the course I’m studying with the Animal Care College, we have a special study, and this is mine.  If you live in the UK, and if all, or part, of your dogs diet is commercially prepared (as opposed to raw, prey model, etc) I would appreciate if you would take a few moments to fill out this survey.

If you have more than one dog, you can fill out the survey more than once; and as a thank you five respondents who enter their email address will be chosen at random to win a handmade fleece tug toy.

6 thoughts on “Do you feed kibble, tins, pouches, or other commercially prepared food?

  1. I can’t help you because I do not live in the UK, but I have no problems sharing the fact that I feed kibble, and what it is. At our house we feed Orijen. Dog food adviser gave it the highest possible rating out of all dry dog foods, it’s human grade, locally produced, and high in protein.

    I also supplement with tripe and raw bones, for help with teeth cleaning.

  2. I feed both of my dogs on a natural raw diet and they thrive. I would NEVER feed my dogs commercial tinned dog food although I do also give a small amoutn of good quality kibble also.

    My dogs health and well being is of paramount importance to me and they have a balanced diet which is fully endorsed by my vet (who breeds EBT’s). It is such a shame that the feeding module in vetinary training so short and often sponsored by dog food companies.

    • I think a big part of the decision comes down to what is right for each dog and owner, I know people who feed the cheapest, junkiest dog food, but they’re happy with it; conversely I also know people who will tell you that feeding anything other than raw/barf/prey model is tantamount to animal cruelty.

  3. I lost a 6 year old dog to cancer. After his premature death I began to read all I could find on his health issues. I now feed a 100% raw diet, have found a holistic vet who is great, and have a dog that is happy and healthy. Good luck with your work, not in UK.

    • I’m sorry for your loss, Jim.

      I do think, as with humans, diet can play a large part of our animal friends’ lives. I’m sure your dog appreciates you learning about his or her nutritional needs.

Have your say...

